Cannot connect to CS7 controller

Adept SmartController CX, assistance, configuration, etc

Cannot connect to CS7 controller

Postby GregK » Fri Oct 02, 2015 8:53 am

Hi Group,

I have an OLD Staubli TX60 robot with an Adept CS7 controller and I am using Adept WindowsPC 3.1 on an XP laptop. I have had this same setup for 10 years with no issue, but I just powered up the system after about 1 year in storage, now the computer cannot connect. WindowsPC starts and tries to connect via ethernet, but just hangs for over 10minutes. I can ping the controller from a cmd prompt so I know I have the right IP (192.168.1.70), laptop is 192.168.1.50. But when I use the scan ethernet option, nothing appears. I am connected via a cross-over cable to the AWCII interface card. I have tried changing settings, computers, cables, connect via serial port, reloaded software, rebooted everything multiple times, no luck. No error messages, just no connection. FYI, the teach pendant looks like it works, but I need to recal the joints after such a long power lapse and I need the computer connected to do that. Any ideas?
Regards,
Greg
GregK
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Oct 01, 2015 2:54 pm

Re: Cannot connect to CS7 controller

Postby Guenter Grass » Fri Oct 09, 2015 6:12 am

Hi Greg,

when you tried to connect via serial. Did you use the RS232/Term port on the AWC II and set the DIP switches on the AWC II board to "CPU #1, no auto boot, user interface via serial Adept Windows"
SW 4 -> ON
SW 3 -> ON
SW 2 -> OFF
SW 1 -> OFF

DIP Switch Settings (page 78-81)
http://www1.adept.com/main/KE/DATA/Archived/Adept%20MV%20Controller%20User%20V13/MVCUG.PDF

Serial port settings on the PC should be set to (if the default AWC RS232/Term settings have not been changed)
Baudrate 9600
Data 8
Stopbit 1
Parity None
Flow Control Xon/Xoff (not 100% sure on this setting)


Regards
Günter
Guenter Grass
 
Posts: 189
Joined: Thu Oct 16, 2008 4:34 am

Re: Cannot connect to CS7 controller

Postby GregK » Fri Oct 09, 2015 4:28 pm

Gunter,

I set the dip switches and port settings and rebooted, no luck, but I am not sure about the cable. I connected the RS232/TERM mini-DIN connector to the 9pin serial port on my laptop (the original mini-DIN to 25pin D cable can not be found). I can remake the cable if you can provide the pin out or tell me where to find it.
Thanks,
Greg
GregK
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Oct 01, 2015 2:54 pm

Re: Cannot connect to CS7 controller

Postby Guenter Grass » Mon Oct 12, 2015 10:05 am

Greg,

see page 83 in the same manual.

Regards
Günter
Guenter Grass
 
Posts: 189
Joined: Thu Oct 16, 2008 4:34 am

Re: Cannot connect to CS7 controller

Postby GregK » Tue Oct 13, 2015 6:09 pm

Gunter,

Set the DIP switches as instructed. Upon restart, now the teach pendant shows "lost communications with controller". I double checked all cable connections and all looks fine. I wired the 9pin dsub to the 8pin mindin as suggested. Started windowspc and get this error message "sendto() error 10049". Tried fixes for this from other posts on this forum with no success. Not sure what to try next. Appreciate your suggestions. Thanks,
Greg
GregK
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Oct 01, 2015 2:54 pm

Re: Cannot connect to CS7 controller

Postby Guenter Grass » Wed Oct 14, 2015 5:56 am

Greg,

you can try serial communication with HyperTerminal in Windows XP.

DIP switch settings are
SW 4 -> ON
SW 3 -> ON
SW 2 -> OFF
SW 1 -> ON

Regards
Günter
Guenter Grass
 
Posts: 189
Joined: Thu Oct 16, 2008 4:34 am

Re: Cannot connect to CS7 controller

Postby GregK » Wed Oct 14, 2015 9:28 am

Gunter,

Hyperterminal on WIN-XP worked via the RS232 comm port! (used Xon/Xoff) Teach pendant came back to life too. Thanks for all your help.
Greg
GregK
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Oct 01, 2015 2:54 pm


Return to SmartController CX Robot Control

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron