Collision Avoidance

Collision Avoidance

Postby Mike Wescott » Fri Jan 29, 2010 1:11 pm

I am new to programming Adept Robotics. I have a very complex application to get myself started with. I have two Viper s850s moutned back to back (connections pointing at each other) about 2 feet appart above a 5 foot wide conveyor belt. Both robots will be picking parts from this belt and both will be placing to the same location. Has anyone out there done something simular? If so how did you handle collision avoidance between the two robots? Any code samples would be great to help me jump start this thing. I have about a month to get the complete setup running including the cutting system.

By the way, the robots are mounted upsidedown too.
Mike Wescott

Re: Collision Avoidance

Postby KevinS » Tue Feb 23, 2010 11:05 pm

Mike,

The TAS instruction can be used to share a variable used by two robots. Below is a link to the V+ language reference guide detailing the proper use of this instruction.

http://www1.adept.com/main/KE/DATA/V%20 ... tas_r.html

The procedure for accessing the location should do something like this:
  • Check the status of the TAS variable and lock it for the current robot
  • Perform the move to the shared location
  • Move away from the shared location
  • Unlock the TAS variable
  • If the variable is locked then the robot should wait at a safe location until the TAS variable is available
KevinS

Re: Collision Avoidance

Postby ToddR » Wed Feb 24, 2010 5:12 pm

Here is some example code intended for use in a custom pick program in ACE PackXpert:

This code would be located in the custom pick program before the call to pm.mv for the approach position. pm.mv is a program which reads the parameters you have set for that motion from the Process Manager and issues the actual motion. This code sample was originally written for two robots with overlapping work envelopes picking parts from a belt.

Code: Select all