Blob Analyzer Failed

Tips and tricks for Adept ACE

Blob Analyzer Failed

Postby icerany » Tue Mar 22, 2016 1:11 am

Hi All,

We meet a strage problem about Blob Analyzer.
Sometimes, blob just detect half of target and return wrong results.

Like this,

blob_fail.png
Blob abnormal
blob_fail.png (144.06 KiB) Viewed 10816 times


The blob just detected half of barcode, another side missed.
Normal screenshot like below,

blob_norma.png
Blob normal
blob_norma.png (220.67 KiB) Viewed 10816 times


How can we solve this?
When this situation occurred, it goes better after resize SearchRegion by hands.
We tried resize it by C# or CVT, but it is not work!!

This problem shows about 2 times per 50 run.


The problem shows on Adept ACE version 3.6.2.14,
we upgrade it to 3.6.3.2 but still occurred.
icerany
 
Posts: 54
Joined: Wed Jun 26, 2013 5:52 am

Re: Blob Analyzer Failed

Postby Guenter Grass » Mon Apr 04, 2016 1:25 am

Hi icerany,

please check the Properties - Segmentation Parameters.

It seems as if the Threshold Black <-> White must be raised (grayscale area of the blobs).

Blob.GIF
Blob.GIF (220.45 KiB) Viewed 10748 times



Best Regards
Günter
Guenter Grass
 
Posts: 189
Joined: Thu Oct 16, 2008 4:34 am

Re: Blob Analyzer Failed

Postby icerany » Tue Apr 05, 2016 6:33 am

Guenter Grass wrote:Hi icerany,

please check the Properties - Segmentation Parameters.

It seems as if the Threshold Black <-> White must be raised (grayscale area of the blobs).

Best Regards
Günter


Thanks for your reply. ^_^

But we had checked the parameters.
The gray scale are located in our settings when problem occurred

And I am told a wrong situation about recovery...

After it occurred, it will always failed until resize search region rectangle by hand (scroll and drag it with mouse).
Click "Run" again or resize by C# or CVT will not work, it still crashed.

I'm so sorry to told a wrong recovery methods. :(
icerany
 
Posts: 54
Joined: Wed Jun 26, 2013 5:52 am

Re: Blob Analyzer Failed

Postby Guenter Grass » Tue Apr 05, 2016 6:59 am

Please check the Windows Event Viewer when the error occurs for any ACE or HexSight errors (or any errors at that time).
Guenter Grass
 
Posts: 189
Joined: Thu Oct 16, 2008 4:34 am

Re: Blob Analyzer Failed

Postby icerany » Wed Apr 06, 2016 7:30 am

Guenter Grass wrote:Please check the Windows Event Viewer when the error occurs for any ACE or HexSight errors (or any errors at that time).


We checked the Event Viewer today, but there are not exists any error about this problem.
I'm so sorry about the PC was located at customer's FAB, we can't get events or logs easier, it was checked by engineers.

It was executed and returned results when Blob crashed, but they were bad results.
icerany
 
Posts: 54
Joined: Wed Jun 26, 2013 5:52 am

Re: Blob Analyzer Failed

Postby Guenter Grass » Mon Apr 18, 2016 2:01 am

Hi icerany,

sorry for the late reply.

To be honest I have no idea why this happens. I have never seen anything like this before.

Can you prevent the error by setting the size of the blob analyzer search area before exectuing it (using an edge locator or an point finder to find the maximum size of the barcode)?

Can you send me some pictures directly from the camera (virtual camera - image logging enabled)? And the blob analyzer tool or a small workspace with the virtual camera and the blob analyzer.


Best Regards
Günter
Guenter Grass
 
Posts: 189
Joined: Thu Oct 16, 2008 4:34 am

Re: Blob Analyzer Failed

Postby duncan » Sun Nov 05, 2017 12:26 pm

Hi,

We are having this exact problem. Has there been any resolution to this?

It feels like it gradually worsens over time, but I am not 100% certain of this.

If we resize the blob analyzer's search area, then set it back to the original setting, then the pixel count works correctly again. Then eventually, it will become a problem again, and we need to resize to correct it.

As with Icerany's example, when showing results graphics, it has clearly located the pixels, but a fraction of them (always grouped together) are highlighted white instead of green, and do not get included in the pixel count.

This is in our factory, so we do have ready access to the machine.
I will see if I can get the issue to replicate on my laptop.

Duncan
duncan
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2014 6:11 pm

Re: Blob Analyzer Failed

Postby duncan » Sun Nov 05, 2017 3:49 pm

Guenter,

I have a small workspace file, and some logged images which replicate this issue.
Would you like me to send you the files?

Cheers
Duncan
duncan
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2014 6:11 pm

Re: Blob Analyzer Failed

Postby Guenter Grass » Mon Nov 06, 2017 1:26 am

Duncan,

that would be great.

Thanks a lot
Günter
Guenter Grass
 
Posts: 189
Joined: Thu Oct 16, 2008 4:34 am


Return to Adept ACE

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 3 guests

cron