Calibration sensor failure

Tips and tricks for Adept ACE

Calibration sensor failure

Postby saman.nouri » Wed Nov 23, 2016 6:18 am

Hi,
I have two eCobra 800 robots. After power outage in the plant, one of them fails to restart on its own. This is the error I get: -1106 see attached.
the program is the same for both. Is this a hardware problem?
Thank you.
Attachments
error.pdf
(94.28 KiB) Downloaded 507 times
saman.nouri
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon May 04, 2015 7:09 am

Re: Calibration sensor failure

Postby Guenter Grass » Wed Nov 23, 2016 8:45 am

Hello Saman Nouri,

the error *Calibration Sensor failure* is a hardware problem. One of the encoders is not returning correct data.

Please contact your local Adept Customer Service representatives.

Best Regards
Günter
Guenter Grass
 
Posts: 189
Joined: Thu Oct 16, 2008 4:34 am

Re: Calibration sensor failure

Postby saman.nouri » Mon Nov 28, 2016 7:00 am

Hi Gunter,

Thank you.
When this happens, all I need to do is to just connect my computer and turn the robot on and run my programs. So, I think it's sort of a false alarm. It just doesn't turn on itself after sudden power outage.
If I disconnect 24V and turn back on, my auto start program works without any error.
Please let me know what you think.

Thank you.
saman.nouri
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon May 04, 2015 7:09 am

Re: Calibration sensor failure

Postby Guenter Grass » Tue Nov 29, 2016 6:37 am

Hello Saman Nouri,

to get the correct error message can you
1. disable the autostart
2. provoke a sudden power outage
3. connect with ACE and immediately open the monitor window without enabling power
4. in the monitor window type "enable pwoer"
5. in the monitor window type "calibrate".
6. check the error. It should display the motor number like *Calibration Sensor failure Mtr. 4". There might be another message like "Dual encoder position delta to high mtr 4 : #" (were # is a number).

With this we know the motor (encoder) that is causing the error but the strange thing on your system is that you can get rid of the error by cutting 24V from the robot and by this actually doing another "sudden power outage". And you can just manually enable power and calibrate the robot.


Best Regards
Günter
Guenter Grass
 
Posts: 189
Joined: Thu Oct 16, 2008 4:34 am

Re: Calibration sensor failure

Postby saman.nouri » Wed Dec 07, 2016 7:56 am

Hi Thank you for your response.
The error I get is exactly what you said:

Calibration Sensor failure Mtr. 4
Dual encoder position delta to high mtr 4 : 13

Our temp solution that works is:
When this happens, just manually rotate z axis a little and then recycle power to the controller. After this, it successfully calibrates and comes back on.

Long term solution:
Do I need a new encoder?
saman.nouri
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon May 04, 2015 7:09 am

Re: Calibration sensor failure

Postby Guenter Grass » Wed Dec 07, 2016 8:37 am

Hi,

the long term solution should be to replace the High Resolution encoder and the encoder reader since both can be the cause of this error.
It is possible to replace only one of them (high res encoder or encoder reader), but if it is the wrong part, a service engineer has to come by one more time and this is typically more expensive then replacing both parts.

Best Regards
Günter
Guenter Grass
 
Posts: 189
Joined: Thu Oct 16, 2008 4:34 am


Return to Adept ACE

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron