When Robot factory calibration required

Adept Cobra i600 and i800 SCARA robots

When Robot factory calibration required

Postby sherif1tce » Sun Nov 30, 2014 8:51 pm

Dear Sir,

we are using adept cobra i600 robot for pick & place application . After Robot Z arm mild hit by nearby camera mounting 9 unexpected, first time ) , we found that robot position accuracy gradually deteriorating during running . Once we do setting or robot power on calibration , problem is corrected . Kindly suggest me area where I should look or should there need to do factory calibration ??

machine under production . production halted . urgent
sherif1tce
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Mar 13, 2014 3:01 am

Re: When Robot factory calibration required

Postby Guenter Grass » Mon Dec 01, 2014 6:45 am

Dear Sir,

an unrecognized "drift" of the robot is typically an encoder problem but the details you provide are not sufficient to really diagnose the cause.
In which direction is the robot deteriorating X/Y/Z/Roll ? If it is Roll than it is most likely the High Resolution Encoder on the ball spline.

Since production is down I recommend calling the Adept Customer Support.
http://www.adept.com/support/service-and-support/main

Regards
Günter
Guenter Grass
 
Posts: 189
Joined: Thu Oct 16, 2008 4:34 am

Re: When Robot factory calibration required

Postby sherif1tce » Fri Dec 05, 2014 3:14 am

Dear Sir,

Thanks for reply . As of now , we replaced with spare to restore production . During that process , we did following things to make it work similar to replaced robot

1. Restored all hardware connections .
2. Did teaching gripper offset ( we are using vision with gripper for picking )
3. Transferred robot config files from replaced robot to new robot.
4. Mounted gripper arm similar to replaced robot mounting.

Kindly validate above activities and tell me if anything else to do .

Problem with robot :

After robot hit the arm , picking centre of robot slowly changing during running .
sherif1tce
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Mar 13, 2014 3:01 am

Re: When Robot factory calibration required

Postby Guenter Grass » Fri Dec 05, 2014 9:13 am

Dear Sir,

since english is not my native-language I'm not 100% sure I understand your posting.

Do you have picking problems with the replacement robot?

When replacing a robot in a robot-vision cell I typically do these things. Assuming it is AdeptSight 2 since you posted in the AdeptSight 2 forum too.
1. Replace the robot.
2. Replace the gripper.

If the vision locations are not ok I do the next step.
3. Do a robot to vision calibration.

If the locations are still not ok because the gripper is not mounted in the same way or different
4. Reteach all locator model Gripper Offsets.

2a/5. Teach all none vision relative location e.g. "place".


Regards
Günter
Guenter Grass
 
Posts: 189
Joined: Thu Oct 16, 2008 4:34 am


Return to Cobra i600/i800

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest