Protection error during calibration

This will be an archive of the Yahoo Adept Software Group messages

Protection error during calibration

Postby jeremywilliams56@yahoo.com » Fri Sep 12, 2008 5:00 pm

I was asked to look at problem for a customer where the system is
generating a Protection error when calibrating the robot.

The first thing I did was go to the diagnostics screen in spec and
make sure I can move each motor. I applied 3 Volts to the X and Y
axis but they did not move, then I accessed the calibration page and
calibrated the X and Y axis with no problem. Then I went back to the
diagnostics page and was able to move the X and Y motors by applying
only .1 Volts. This may or may not be related to the problem but I
thought it was worth mentioning.

After that, I went to calibration page and tried to home the Z axis,
but as you can see in the screen capture that a protection error is
generated. The field engineer is going to check the wiring for the Z-
Theta axis.

Someone from Adept had recommended to replace the NVRAM chip and re-
install the licenses. They did that but the original problem still
exists.

Please take a look at the screen captures and comment on the
protection error. Any help would be greatly appreciated in this
matter. Please call if you have any questions or need more
information.
jeremywilliams56@yahoo.com
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2008 5:00 pm

Re: [adept_software] Protection error during calibration

Postby juergen.bosse@robo-technology.de » Sat Sep 13, 2008 5:00 pm

Please test the following:
- Check general wiring of all Adept components, also bent or pushed-in=20
pins of connectors
- Check that the amps and blank panels in the PA4 have all 4 screws=20
fastened, there is a micro-switch behind them!
- Examine any wires / air pipes through the Z axis (to see if they are=20
twisted too much - if so, unwind Theta!)
- Note the V+ version from the ID command and post this information next=20
time, puuuuleeeeezeeee.
- Make sure the CALIB directory contains the correct files for this OS
- Make sure the UTIL directory contains the correct files for this OS
- Check if there is ANY motion of Z/Theta at the attempted calibration
- Check if all amps come on with PWM or if you still have any red LEDs=20
during calibration
- Watch amp LEDs during calib of X/Y during calib and compare to Z/T calib
- Swap amps for good measure and note any changes
If it all doesn't help, sit down, have a roasted turkey sandwich and=20
think it all over. This has worked well for me in the past. Although it=20
didn't solved the problem in all cases.
Good luck (you'll need it)
Juergen
PS: If my detective work wasn't good enough, then you might have an=20
entirely different system and some, most or all of my advice here may be=20
wrong or at least misleading. So please post a proper ID and description=20
of your hard- und software, so we can fine-tune our help for you.
juergen.bosse@robo-technology.de
 
Posts: 132
Joined: Tue Jul 09, 2002 5:00 pm

Re: [adept_software] Re: Protection error during calibration

Postby juergen.bosse@robo-technology.de » Sat Sep 13, 2008 5:00 pm

Let us know how it goes,
Juergen
juergen.bosse@robo-technology.de
 
Posts: 132
Joined: Tue Jul 09, 2002 5:00 pm

Re: Protection error during calibration

Postby williamj@unovis-solutions.com » Wed Sep 17, 2008 5:00 pm

All,
The Z motor was changed without any improvement on the
Protection error results, I am not one to just keep throwing parts at
a machine but they are now swapping out the SIB with a new one.


Here is a list of things that we have tried mechanically

EJI
AWCII
Dual B+ Amp
Z Motor
SIB "changing this now"
The cables were all checked for loose or pushed pins and connections

I am not confident at this point that the SIB will make any
difference.

Jeremy

--- In adept_software@yahoogroups.com, Juergen Bosse
wrote:
>
> Hi Marcus,
>
> ok, good point, I didn't think of that!!
>
> But then, why would it work with X and Y in SPEC, but not with Z?
>
> It is true, though, that the calibration sequence is Z, X, Y,
Theta,
> with Theta being twanged shortly after twanging Z (it needs to be
able
> to servo, because Z = Jt3 and Theta = Jt4 are coupled mechanically,
so
> Jt4 needs to be able to servo in order to move Jt3)
>
> Thus, if the system were in Manual mode at boot time, calibration
would
> fail right there at the Z axis, as it is the first one being
twanged! I
> thought it might give a Robot Interlocked instead, but that depends
on
> the V+ version, too.
>
> Ok, Jeremy, please try the following: In the V+ Monitor, type
>
> LISTR STATE(5)
>
> If it returns 1 or 3, you are in AUTO mode and we need to look
somewhere
> else for the fault.
> If it returns 2 or 4, you're in MANUAL mode and it definately won't
> calibrate then!
>
> If you are in MANUAL mode, and you don't know why, please follow
the
> schematics, starting at the CIP (or CIP2). It has a keysswitch
which
> needs to be set to AUTO. If it is, there are also contacts at the
XUSER
> connector which need to be made to be in AUTO mode.
>
>
> Let us know how it goes,
> Juergen
>
> Newport Robotics schrieb:
> >
> > Hi,
> >
> > On a Staubli Robot, If the Teach Run Switch is in Manual on Boot
up,
> > this will give a Protection Error.
> >
> > Marcus Pye
> > Newport Robotic Services Ltd
> >
>
> --
>
_____________________________________________________________________
>
> Juergen Bosse
> Robo-Technology GmbH Sitz der Gesellschaft: Puchheim
> Benzstrasse 12 Amtsgericht München HRB 140072
> 82178 Puchheim Geschäftsf.: Jürgen Bosse, Jörn
Bosse
> Germany
>
> Tel: +49-89-8006390 http://www.robo-technology.de
> Fax: +49-89-807917 juergen.bosse@...
> Mob: +49-171-5178540
>
_____________________________________________________________________
>
williamj@unovis-solutions.com
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2008 5:00 pm

Re: [adept_software] Re: Protection error during calibration

Postby juergen.bosse@robo-technology.de » Wed Sep 17, 2008 5:00 pm

jeremywilliams56 schrieb:
>
>
> All,
> The Z motor was changed without any improvement on the
> Protection error results, I am not one to just keep throwing parts at
> a machine but they are now swapping out the SIB with a new one.
>
> Here is a list of things that we have tried mechanically
>
> EJI
> AWCII
> Dual B+ Amp
> Z Motor
> SIB "changing this now"
> The cables were all checked for loose or pushed pins and connections
>
> I am not confident at this point that the SIB will make any
> difference.
>
> Jeremy
>
> --- In adept_software@yahoogroups.com=20
> , Juergen Bosse
> wrote:
> >
> > Hi Marcus,
> >
> > ok, good point, I didn't think of that!!
> >
> > But then, why would it work with X and Y in SPEC, but not with Z?
> >
> > It is true, though, that the calibration sequence is Z, X, Y,
> Theta,
> > with Theta being twanged shortly after twanging Z (it needs to be
> able
> > to servo, because Z =3D Jt3 and Theta =3D Jt4 are coupled mechanically,
> so
> > Jt4 needs to be able to servo in order to move Jt3)
> >
> > Thus, if the system were in Manual mode at boot time, calibration
> would
> > fail right there at the Z axis, as it is the first one being
> twanged! I
> > thought it might give a Robot Interlocked instead, but that depends
> on
> > the V+ version, too.
> >
> > Ok, Jeremy, please try the following: In the V+ Monitor, type
> >
> > LISTR STATE(5)
> >
> > If it returns 1 or 3, you are in AUTO mode and we need to look
> somewhere
> > else for the fault.
> > If it returns 2 or 4, you're in MANUAL mode and it definately won't
> > calibrate then!
> >
> > If you are in MANUAL mode, and you don't know why, please follow
> the
> > schematics, starting at the CIP (or CIP2). It has a keysswitch
> which
> > needs to be set to AUTO. If it is, there are also contacts at the
> XUSER
> > connector which need to be made to be in AUTO mode.
> >
> >
> > Let us know how it goes,
> > Juergen
> >
> > Newport Robotics schrieb:
> > >
> > > Hi,
> > >
> > > On a Staubli Robot, If the Teach Run Switch is in Manual on Boot
> up,
> > > this will give a Protection Error.
> > >
> > > Marcus Pye
> > > Newport Robotic Services Ltd
> > >
> >
> > --
> >
> __________________________________________________________
> >
> > Juergen Bosse
> > Robo-Technology GmbH Sitz der Gesellschaft: Puchheim
> > Benzstrasse 12 Amtsgericht M=FCnchen HRB 140072
> > 82178 Puchheim Gesch=E4ftsf.: J=FCrgen Bosse, J=F6rn
> Bosse
> > Germany
> >
> > Tel: +49-89-8006390 http://www.robo-technology.de=20
>
> > Fax: +49-89-807917 juergen.bosse@...
> > Mob: +49-171-5178540
> >
> __________________________________________________________
> >
>
>=20=20
juergen.bosse@robo-technology.de
 
Posts: 132
Joined: Tue Jul 09, 2002 5:00 pm

Re: [adept_software] Re: Protection error during calibration

Postby williamj@unovis-solutions.com » Thu Sep 18, 2008 5:00 pm

Juergen,

The customer does have an identical system but have not allowed us to swap
that out.




Jeremy Williams | Technical Specialist | Unovis Solutions
147 Industrial Park Drive | Binghamton NY | 13904
t: 607.779.5378 | f: 607.779.7855





Juergen Bosse
hnology.de> cc: (bcc: JeremyWilliams/AMER/UIC)
Sent by: Subject: Re: [adept_software] Re: Protection error during calibration
adept_software@yahoogro
ups.com


09/17/2008 05:09 PM
Please respond to
adept_software






Hi Jeremy,

that sounds like a rather unpleasant search...

Just to rule out software... do they have another (working) system there,
where they can take the compact flash and plug it into the faulty system?

Juergen


jeremywilliams56 schrieb:



All,
The Z motor was changed without any improvement on the
Protection error results, I am not one to just keep throwing parts at

a machine but they are now swapping out the SIB with a new one.

Here is a list of things that we have tried mechanically

EJI
AWCII
Dual B+ Amp
Z Motor
SIB "changing this now"
The cables were all checked for loose or pushed pins and connections

I am not confident at this point that the SIB will make any
difference.

Jeremy

--- In adept_software@yahoogroups.com, Juergen Bosse
wrote:
>
> Hi Marcus,
>
> ok, good point, I didn't think of that!!
>
> But then, why would it work with X and Y in SPEC, but not with Z?
>
> It is true, though, that the calibration sequence is Z, X, Y,
Theta,
> with Theta being twanged shortly after twanging Z (it needs to be
able
> to servo, because Z = Jt3 and Theta = Jt4 are coupled mechanically,

so
> Jt4 needs to be able to servo in order to move Jt3)
>
> Thus, if the system were in Manual mode at boot time, calibration
would
> fail right there at the Z axis, as it is the first one being
twanged! I
> thought it might give a Robot Interlocked instead, but that depends

on
> the V+ version, too.
>
> Ok, Jeremy, please try the following: In the V+ Monitor, type
>
> LISTR STATE(5)
>
> If it returns 1 or 3, you are in AUTO mode and we need to look
somewhere
> else for the fault.
> If it returns 2 or 4, you're in MANUAL mode and it definately won't

> calibrate then!
>
> If you are in MANUAL mode, and you don't know why, please follow
the
> schematics, starting at the CIP (or CIP2). It has a keysswitch
which
> needs to be set to AUTO. If it is, there are also contacts at the
XUSER
> connector which need to be made to be in AUTO mode.
>
>
> Let us know how it goes,
> Juergen
>
> Newport Robotics schrieb:
> >
> > Hi,
> >
> > On a Staubli Robot, If the Teach Run Switch is in Manual on Boot
up,
> > this will give a Protection Error.
> >
> > Marcus Pye
> > Newport Robotic Services Ltd
> >
>
> --
>
__________________________________________________________
>
> Juergen Bosse
> Robo-Technology GmbH Sitz der Gesellschaft: Puchheim
> Benzstrasse 12 Amtsgericht München HRB 140072
> 82178 Puchheim Geschäftsf.: Jürgen Bosse, Jörn
Bosse
> Germany
>
> Tel: +49-89-8006390 http://www.robo-technology.de
> Fax: +49-89-807917 juergen.bosse@...
> Mob: +49-171-5178540
>
__________________________________________________________
>




--
_____________________________________________________________________

Juergen Bosse
Robo-Technology GmbH Sitz der Gesellschaft: Puchheim
Benzstrasse 12 Amtsgericht München HRB 140072
82178 Puchheim Geschäftsf.: Jürgen Bosse, Jörn Bosse
Germany

Tel: +49-89-8006390 http://www.robo-technology.de
Fax: +49-89-807917 juergen.bosse@robo-technology.de
Mob: +49-171-5178540
_____________________________________________________________________
williamj@unovis-solutions.com
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2008 5:00 pm

Re: Protection error during calibration

Postby williamj@unovis-solutions.com » Mon Sep 22, 2008 5:00 pm

All,
The mysterious Protection Error has been solved, the Front Panel
Serial Bus failure also as been fixed.
I know you are all dying to have the answer, you ready
A new AWCII fixed the Front Panel error
And when they replaced the X cable due to the limit switch being on
they somehow shorted all the Z axis motor phases to ground which was
causing the Protection Error. the machine is up and running.


--- In adept_software@yahoogroups.com, williamj@... wrote:
>
>
> Juergen,
>
> The customer does have an identical system but have not allowed us
to swap
> that out.
>
>
>
>
> Jeremy Williams | Technical Specialist | Unovis Solutions
> 147 Industrial Park Drive | Binghamton NY | 13904
> t: 607.779.5378 | f: 607.779.7855
>
>
>
>
>

> Juergen Bosse

> adept_software@yahoogroups.com

> hnology.de> cc: (bcc:
Jeremy Williams/AMER/UIC)
> Sent by: Subject: Re:
[adept_software] Re: Protection error during calibration
> adept_software@yahoogro

> ups.com

>

>

> 09/17/2008 05:09 PM

> Please respond to

> adept_software

>

>

>
>
>
>
> Hi Jeremy,
>
> that sounds like a rather unpleasant search...
>
> Just to rule out software... do they have another (working) system
there,
> where they can take the compact flash and plug it into the faulty
system?
>
> Juergen
>
>
> jeremywilliams56 schrieb:
>
>
>
> All,
> The Z motor was changed without any improvement on the
> Protection error results, I am not one to just keep throwing
parts at
>
> a machine but they are now swapping out the SIB with a new one.
>
> Here is a list of things that we have tried mechanically
>
> EJI
> AWCII
> Dual B+ Amp
> Z Motor
> SIB "changing this now"
> The cables were all checked for loose or pushed pins and
connections
>
> I am not confident at this point that the SIB will make any
> difference.
>
> Jeremy
>
> --- In adept_software@yahoogroups.com, Juergen Bosse
> wrote:
> >
> > Hi Marcus,
> >
> > ok, good point, I didn't think of that!!
> >
> > But then, why would it work with X and Y in SPEC, but not
with Z?
> >
> > It is true, though, that the calibration sequence is Z, X, Y,
> Theta,
> > with Theta being twanged shortly after twanging Z (it needs
to be
> able
> > to servo, because Z = Jt3 and Theta = Jt4 are coupled
mechanically,
>
> so
> > Jt4 needs to be able to servo in order to move Jt3)
> >
> > Thus, if the system were in Manual mode at boot time,
calibration
> would
> > fail right there at the Z axis, as it is the first one being
> twanged! I
> > thought it might give a Robot Interlocked instead, but that
depends
>
> on
> > the V+ version, too.
> >
> > Ok, Jeremy, please try the following: In the V+ Monitor, type
> >
> > LISTR STATE(5)
> >
> > If it returns 1 or 3, you are in AUTO mode and we need to look
> somewhere
> > else for the fault.
> > If it returns 2 or 4, you're in MANUAL mode and it
definately won't
>
> > calibrate then!
> >
> > If you are in MANUAL mode, and you don't know why, please follow
> the
> > schematics, starting at the CIP (or CIP2). It has a keysswitch
> which
> > needs to be set to AUTO. If it is, there are also contacts
at the
> XUSER
> > connector which need to be made to be in AUTO mode.
> >
> >
> > Let us know how it goes,
> > Juergen
> >
> > Newport Robotics schrieb:
> > >
> > > Hi,
> > >
> > > On a Staubli Robot, If the Teach Run Switch is in Manual
on Boot
> up,
> > > this will give a Protection Error.
> > >
> > > Marcus Pye
> > > Newport Robotic Services Ltd
> > >
> >
> > --
> >
> __________________________________________________________
> >
> > Juergen Bosse
> > Robo-Technology GmbH Sitz der Gesellschaft: Puchheim
> > Benzstrasse 12 Amtsgericht München HRB 140072
> > 82178 Puchheim Geschäftsf.: Jürgen Bosse, Jörn
> Bosse
> > Germany
> >
> > Tel: +49-89-8006390 http://www.robo-technology.de
> > Fax: +49-89-807917 juergen.bosse@
> > Mob: +49-171-5178540
> >
> __________________________________________________________
> >
>
>
>
>
> --
> _____________________________________________________________________
>
> Juergen Bosse
> Robo-Technology GmbH Sitz der Gesellschaft: Puchheim
> Benzstrasse 12 Amtsgericht München HRB 140072
> 82178 Puchheim Geschäftsf.: Jürgen Bosse, Jörn Bosse
> Germany
>
> Tel: +49-89-8006390 http://www.robo-technology.de
> Fax: +49-89-807917 juergen.bosse@...
> Mob: +49-171-5178540
> _____________________________________________________________________
>
williamj@unovis-solutions.com
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2008 5:00 pm


Return to Yahoo Software Group Archive

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests