Adept Windows PC and Win 7

AdeptWindows discussions, tips and tricks, plug-ins, Q & A

Moderator: mnoschang

Adept Windows PC and Win 7

Postby gasalvati » Sun Dec 11, 2016 3:39 pm

Hi everyone
We used to have Windows XP Smartvision EX as PackXpert main PC.
New Smartivision PCs came with Windows 7 and all software preinstalled.
The missing software is Adept Windows PC, but we still need to use it for checking and calibrating Cobras.
I tried installing awin31 on new Smartvision EX with Win 7 but it couldn't connect to the controller (SmartController).
At the moment I use VNC to connect to Remote Vision Servers that are still old SmartVIsion with Windows XP, and run Adept Windows PC from this remote computers, but it is not the way we want to cotinue.

Is this problem:
-a bad installation of awin31
-awin31 not compatible for Win 7
-a port/firewall problem/misconfiguration that I need to correct

Hope you can help me.

Thanks
Gustavo
gasalvati
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2016 6:47 am

Re: Adept Windows PC and Win 7

Postby teknikiharmoni » Thu Apr 27, 2017 2:45 am

Have you checked your TCP/IP connections speed setting?
I had problems with AdeptWindows in Win 7 but worked fine in XP.
Then I remembered another TCP/IP mysterious problem...
Go to the "Properties" of TCP/IP connection in question then "Configure" (Board)/"Advanced" tab/"Link speed" set to 10Mbit/s half duplex.
This speed setting can generate many fishy problems. As disconnecting after a while. Slow updating. Not able to connect if a third party/node is connected to same hub/switch. etc.
Malmborgs Teknik i Harmoni
Anders Malmborg
Bråmåbovägen 120
792 90 Sollerön
+46 (0)70 54 22060
Fax +46(0)250 22060
TeknikiHarmoni.com
teknikiharmoni
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2008 11:57 pm

Re: Adept Windows PC and Win 7

Postby gasalvati » Wed May 31, 2017 4:00 pm

I have to apologize for not coming back to the forum for a long time.
I have just find out your reply, and need to say thanks to you.
Next saturday I will have the chance to check what you suggest.

Thanks again.
GS
gasalvati
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2016 6:47 am

Re: Adept Windows PC and Win 7

Postby gasalvati » Sun Jul 02, 2017 2:12 pm

Not all boards have the option for setting link speed and duplexing mode.
There is a mixture of Windows XP and Windows 7 PCs in the same system (PackXpert and remote vision servers).
So I cannot set them all fixed.

Thanks
gasalvati
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2016 6:47 am

Re: Adept Windows PC and Win 7

Postby teknikiharmoni » Sun Jul 02, 2017 11:55 pm

Think you may need a separate network connection for AdeptWindows. I mean just soft not hardware. With its own network driver so its not the one for Vision. I have a Basler driver where not much is shown regarding driver settings. Think it should be one of Windows/your PC's own network drivers. (It's a jungle in win...)
Malmborgs Teknik i Harmoni
Anders Malmborg
Bråmåbovägen 120
792 90 Sollerön
+46 (0)70 54 22060
Fax +46(0)250 22060
TeknikiHarmoni.com
teknikiharmoni
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2008 11:57 pm

Re: Adept Windows PC and Win 7

Postby gasalvati » Mon Jul 03, 2017 6:07 pm

You are right.
The driver for the ethernet networks ports of the smartvision PC is Basler (at least in one of the PCs that still XP).
I have to upgarde and downgrade ACE for some tests and Basler software has to be remove/unisntall. Every time I do that (I'm conecting through VNC) the connection is lost (have to reconnect and the install/uninstal is still running).
I'm not using Vision through ethernet so I can install another driver for that ports (is that your suggestion?).
I will search for he right driver.

Thanks
GS
gasalvati
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2016 6:47 am

Re: Adept Windows PC and Win 7

Postby teknikiharmoni » Mon Jul 03, 2017 9:47 pm

Don't use Basler connection use/set up another network connection using the same network hardware but with Windows standard driver. Think the Basler driver have restricted settings to not confuse what its supposed to connect. I use the Basler for internet connection w. DHCP addressing and a std. Win connection for Adept/AdeptWindows/NFS.
Malmborgs Teknik i Harmoni
Anders Malmborg
Bråmåbovägen 120
792 90 Sollerön
+46 (0)70 54 22060
Fax +46(0)250 22060
TeknikiHarmoni.com
teknikiharmoni
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2008 11:57 pm

Re: Adept Windows PC and Win 7

Postby gasalvati » Tue Jul 04, 2017 10:58 am

Thanks
Will check that on saturday evening (out of production day).
gasalvati
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2016 6:47 am

Re: Adept Windows PC and Win 7

Postby Guenter Grass » Thu Jul 06, 2017 12:36 am

If the mentioned tips don't work make sure to try it with the firewall disabled (as you already mentioned).
Guenter Grass
 
Posts: 189
Joined: Thu Oct 16, 2008 4:34 am

Re: Adept Windows PC and Win 7

Postby gasalvati » Thu Jul 13, 2017 5:04 am

I'm not trying to connect adept windows anymore. In new ACE releases, I run a terminal from within ACE, so there is no need to use the standalone application.

Thanks
GS
gasalvati
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2016 6:47 am


Return to AdeptWindows

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest